Dark Chocolate Brownie Cupcake w/ Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting

12801378_1253989204628858_3587759086458820082_n                It has come to an end of my vacation i decided to bust out my Kitchenaid and bake some goodies! I was searching through pinterest looking for a recipe until i came across a yummy chocolately cupcake recipe. It lead me to a wonderful blog full of delicious recipes, which you can find here.
Now the original recipe calls for a salted caramel frosting, which to be honest it’s what actually caught my eye, but as i was baking my recipe book flip the page and I made an oopies and made a different frosting. I was bummed because I LOVE everything that has to do with salted caramel but as I was running low on butter I kept the Cinnamon frosting and it worked out.

First you will want to get all your ingredients set up and ready.

You Will Need

  • 1 Cup ( 2 sticks) unsalted butter.
  • 8 ounces ( 1 cup) of chopped dark chocolate.
  • 1 cup of light brown sugar.
  • 1 teaspoon instant espresso powder (optional)
  • 2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 4 large eggs ( room temp.)
  • 1 cup all purpose flour.
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 cup bittersweet chocolate chips

For Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting

  • 8 ounces cream cheese
  • 1/4 cup butter ( softened)
  • 3 cups confectioners sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

What You Want To Do

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Place butter and chocolate in a heat proof bowl over a saucepan with simmering water. Stir until butter and chocolate are melted.
  3. Add brown sugar, espresso powder and vanilla extract, whisk until smooth and allow to cool for a couple of minutes.
  4. Once it’s some what cooled add eggs ( one at a time). Mix in flour, salt and baking powder ( be careful not to over mix)
  5. Fold in bittersweet chocolate chips.
  6. Place in cupcake sheet and bake for about 20-25 minutes or until wooden toothpick comes out clean.

Now as you are baking the cupcakes, and waiting for them to cool, it’s time to prepare the Frosting!

  1. Beat cream cheese and butter in an electric mixer until smooth
  2. Add confectioners sugar ( a bit at a time)
  3. Add vanilla extract and the ground cinnamon
  4. Beat until fluffy.

Once the cupcakes are cooled you may add the frosting. Be careful not to ice them while hot, it will make the frosting melt.

Also a tip: Piping is alot harder that it looks ( at least it was for me) but practice makes perfect…right?!?!

If anyone tries this out, let me know ow it turns out. I absolutely love it. The cinnamon frosting works although next time i will definitely will make sure I have the salted caramel frosting.

 

image

 

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate Brownie Cupcake w/ Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting

Leave a comment